Frank Lloyd Wright and a Double-Feature

For months now, my friends and I have been wanting to devote an LA Day to touring Frank Lloyd Wright buildings. We finally made it happen last week, and what a lovely day it ended up being. We weren’t able to get up to the city until mid-afternoon, so we only had time to see the Ennis House and the Hollyhock House. This actually worked out incredibly well because we happened to be visiting these sites right during the Golden Hour…that time of day when the sun is lowering towards the horizon and casting a dreamy golden light over everything. Everything.

Beautiful Katie! I loved the way the reds from the tree in the background were complementing her red hair.

I am so fascinated by the nitty-gritty things in life. Call me crazy for taking a picture of a man-hole, but I like it.

Also I love trees. A lot.

To say Kimmie was on Cloud Nine would be a severe understatement. I can tell she savored every minute of this excursion.

Look at this light! I was freaking out.

We parked just down a flight of stairs from the location the picture below was taken near the Hollyhock House. When I got out of the car I looked across the little valley and could see the Ennis House, which we had just left. That was a pretty crazy “everything is connected” moment.

The view was just a little bit ridiculous.

We concluded the day with dinner at the Farmer’s Market and a double-feature at the New Beverly Cinema, a revival theater in the heart of LA. On the docket: Drive and Warrior. Two spectacular films that you should drop everything THIS SECOND to go see. Seriously, do it.

I must confess that this was my third time seeing Drive. I can honestly say that I fall even more in love with this film with each passing day. My obsession was definitely encouraged by the slight detour we took on our way home to cross this bridge/overpass that was used in the opening scene. Must must must go back and get pictures.

Drive (“7th Street Bridge”)

I know this post is getting lengthy, but please allow me two sentences to gush about Drive. The only way I can describe it is how I’ve heard it described to me: an art-house B-movie. This film is pure story with depth and suspense–no special effects, no nonsense, just beautiful cinematography, acting, and directing. Also, Nicolas Winding Refn makes Los Angeles look pretty darn fantastic…the lighting is spot-on.

And with that, I see the perfect way to tie the two parts of this post together: Lighting.

Here’s to finding–and basking in–the Light.

Leave a Reply

